Teamsters Local 492
Teamsters Local 492

Register an Account
Forgot Login?
The Teamsters Dominated The NM Truck Roadeo Again!
Dec 06, 2011

The Teamsters dominated the NM Truck Roadeo again this year, taking 1st place in 5 of the 8 categories they competed in, (no Teamsters competed in the Step Van) and also took the Team trophy, again. Click Here to view all the photos. To view last year’s results, Click Here.


ABF had 5 first place winners which qualifies these drivers for a trip to Orlando to compete at the 2011 Nationals. ABF had 13 participants and 8 received trophies for their efforts.

1st 4 axle - Gerald Benavidez

1st 5 axle - Michael Contreras (3-peat)

1st` Sleeper - James Morgan

1st Flatbed - Ralph Garcia (9-peat)

1st Tanker - Bill Sanchez

2nd Twins - Craig Arellano

3rd Twins - Chad Sullins

3rd 3 axle - Charlie Estrada 

ABF’s other participants included Donnie Tafoya - 4 Axle, Don Wood - 3 Axle, Ricky Lucas - Twins, Kirk Weis – Straight Truck, and Ben Saiz - 5 axle sleeper. 

ABF/NM won the TEAM trophy for the 5th year in a row! ABF also had 2 Drivers of the Month honored. City Driver Richard Smith, for July, and Road Driver Phil Tafoya, for October. 

ABF provided water and ice to the DOT MTP Challenge. ABF Line Driver Charlie Estrada and Line Haul Manager Randy Archer also assisted them during the interview part of their competition.  

ABF Line Driver Jim Curtis, who serves as America’s Road Team Captain, was a very valuable contributor with his time and effort. He was the hostling committee chairman and helped Jim Wilcox Jr., a Retired YRCW Teamster, set up the two courses. Mr. Curtis also hostled the trucks all day, and helped tear it all down and put it away afterwords. 

A special thanks to Retired Roadway Driver Kim Hendrix and his son, and Local 492 Trustee Trey White, who also serves as a Union Steward at ABF,  for volunteering their time to help hostle all the equipment all day and make sure everything was where it was suppose to be and when it was needed.


YRCW/NM won an award for Highest Highway Safety Achievement - First Place over 8,000,000 Miles driven without preventable accidents.

YRC had 4 drivers compete this year: 

Gilbert Gonzales, from Albuquerque - Twins

Randy Amberman from Farmington - 3 Axle

Chris Kovacs from Farmington - 3 Axle

Mark Gauthier from Farmington - 3 Axle

TDI- Sara Lee

For the 3rd year in a row, TDI (formerly SCS) Sara Lee New Mexico won the Highest Highway Safety Achievement award for the 100,000 to 500,000 mileage class.

The New Mexico Trucking Association awarded TDI Driver Brian Thais, Driver of the Month for December 2010. Brian also completed in the 4 axle this year.

Teamsters Local 492 is proud to have the Union represented so well at the NM Truck Roadeo and wishes to thank the 18 drivers and all the volunteers for making this Roadeo another great one. If you did not participate this year we encourage you to talk to your employer and compete next year. Let’s show those non-union drivers how the pro’s do it!

<< July 2024 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
New Mexico Teamsters Win at NMTDC 2024

New Mexico Teamsters Win at NMTDC 2024 On May 18, 2024, New Mexico Teamsters converged from all over the state to compete in the New Mexico Truck Driving Championship. Held at the Isleta Casino, the decades-old event encourages dedicated drivers, spread among 9 divisions, to test their skills among 98 fellow competitors for the title of State Champion in their division.

2024 California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship Applications NOW AVAILABLE

The California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus is proud to offer its 2024 Scholarship.  The California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship digital fill-in form application can be downloaded by Clicking the "read more" button, or a paper copy can be picked up in person at the Union Hall.  The instructions, requirements, and deadline to submit the application are detailed on the application form.
Download: California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship digital fill-in form.pdf

Yellow Corporation Bankruptcy Update Regarding Member WARN Act Claims

4/18/2024 - The following is a message from John A. Murphy, IBT National Freight Director and Co-Chair, TNFINC: Re: Yellow Corporation Bankruptcy Update Regarding Member WARN Act Claims TO ALL LOCAL UNIONS HAVING MEMBERS EMPLOYED OR FORMERLY EMPLOYED BY YELLOW CORPORATION AFFILIATES I.

Teamsters Local 492 Wins Historic Grievance Against Sysco for Members

4/16/2024- It is with great pleasure that I can report to all our members, that Teamsters Local 492 has won a hard-fought grievance for our Sysco brothers and sisters! On April 03, 2020, a grievance was filed to enforce the forty-hour language in our contract.  This grievance was filed during the Walter Maestas administration, in the early stages of Covid-19.

Teamsters 492 Organizing Victory in NM at Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits

On behalf of Teamsters Local 492, I would personally like to congratulate all of the workers at Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits in this Local's jurisdiction, which includes warehouse workers, loaders, drivers as well as hostlers/yard jockeys.

TForce Freight – Article 44 Rail & Subcontracting Update

TForce Freight – Article 44 Rail & Subcontracting Update The IBT has reviewed the monthly filing by TForce Freight to TNFINC and pursuant to the requirements of the 2023-2028 National Master TForce Freight Agreement’s Article 44. TForce Freight’s for the month of January 2024 was 43.44%, which is under the 45.8% limit as of January 31, 2024.

Correction: Notice of 492 Contact Info

Correction: Notice of 492 Contact Info 1/26/2024- Recently, an email was sent out with incorrect information regarding contact info for our 492 bookkeeper who handles Dues, Life with Dues, and Pension appointments, Monique Montoya. Her correct 492 office phone number is 505-344-1925 Ex. 12.

WCTPT Summary Plan Booklet 2023 Now Available

The Updated Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust Summary Plan Booklet 2023 is Now Available in PDF Form. Also, building on the strong investment results of 2023, the Trustees of the Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust have approved major benefit improvements.
Download: WCTPT_Summary_Plan_Booklet_2023.pdf

Teamsters Local 492
4269 Balloon Park Road NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109

Top of Page image
Powered By UnionActive - Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.