Teamsters Local 492
Teamsters Local 492

Register an Account
Forgot Login?
2015 New Mexico Truck Driving Championships
May 21, 2015

This was another good year for the Teamster represented Companies at the 2015 Truck Roadeo. New Mexico Teamsters Local 492 Secretary-Treasurer Walter R. Maestas was there to lend his support to all the Teamsters in the roadeo which included drivers from ABF, Sysco, TeamOne, UPS Freight, and YRC. Individual Teamsters from ABF, TeamOne & YRC took home 10 placement awards, 2 DOM awards and CB Montoya of YRC received the Driver of the Year Award.

Click Here to View Photos provided to us by Ruby Wilson, Thanks Ruby!

This article will be updated as info and pictures are provided to us. At this point only ABF & YRC have responded to our requests for info.


ABF had a  large showing of supporters at this year’s roadeo which included ABF Freight President Tim Thorne, VP of Line haul Mark McMinn, Regional VP Andy Upchurch, West Regional Director Ed Myers, ABF Local Management and employees from the shop, dock, line haul, and office.  

Here are their results:

1st place in Sleeper class Ralph Garcia, which is his13th win in a row

1st place in 5-axle class Charlie Estrada                  

1st place Straight Truck class Donald Woods

2nd place Flatbed class Tito Torres                         

3rd place 4-axle class Ricky Lucas

3rd place Twins Chad Sullins, his 7th year in a row placing

3rd place 5-axle class Michael Contreras          

ABF Freight had 2 drivers honored as “Driver of the Month” for 2014; Carroll Weaver for February and Fred White for March.

ABF won two Fleet safety Awards, the city operation won the 100,000 to 500,000 mile category which they also won last year, and Line Haul won the over 5,000,000 mile award for the 4th consecutive year!

Line Haul Manager Randy Archer received the 2015  “Jim Wilcox Award" recognizing service in the field of safety.

Also competing from ABF; Randy Amberman (out of Farmington, NM) and Kirk Weis in 3-axle, Gerald Benavidez in 4-axle, Craig Arellano in flatbed, Robert Delgado in tanker, Duane Oldfield in twins.

ABF Freight Safety department has agreed to sponsor a new award, to be called the “Ralph Garcia Award".  It was awarded to ABF driver and 13 time winner Ralph Garcia this year and he will present it to other deserving competitors in the future.  It is for continued excellence in safety and participation in the NM TDC’s. The NM Safety Management Council was inspired by National "Neal Darmstadter Award" when creating this award.


YRC recently celebrated 19 million miles accident and injury free, the streak was from January 2013 to January 2015 (see picture above). Congratulations to all the Teamster drivers at YRC that made this happen! You truly have made us proud. YRC received the “Carrier of the Year” award at the NM TDC this year because of your phenomenal record!  To read an article we posted when they hit 15 million, click here.

Jack Rojas took 2nd in the 5-axle sleeper and Michael Mcafee took 3rd in the 5-axle sleeper. CB Montoya received driver of the year for his 6 million miles accident and injury free. CB has been with YRC 43 years, is 77 years old and is still driving safe.  Other Participants from YRC were Leroy EyHcio in 3-axle, Manny Gomez in 5-axle, James Aragon in Twins and Frank Sandoval in Twins.

Team One

Brian Thais took 2nd place also participating Cameron Misner in 4-axle.


Participants included Sean Smartt, Thomas Humphreys, Jose Salas, Pascual Montes all in 3 axle and Aaron Clonan in flatbed.

UPS Freight

Participants included Luis Soliz, Jr & Jose Seijas in 3-axle, Keith Brewer & Stephen Lopez in Twins.

Congratulations to everyone and we look forward to 2016! To view the 2014 TDC article, Click Here.

To View The Score Sheet, Click Here


<< July 2024 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
New Mexico Teamsters Win at NMTDC 2024

New Mexico Teamsters Win at NMTDC 2024 On May 18, 2024, New Mexico Teamsters converged from all over the state to compete in the New Mexico Truck Driving Championship. Held at the Isleta Casino, the decades-old event encourages dedicated drivers, spread among 9 divisions, to test their skills among 98 fellow competitors for the title of State Champion in their division.

2024 California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship Applications NOW AVAILABLE

The California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus is proud to offer its 2024 Scholarship.  The California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship digital fill-in form application can be downloaded by Clicking the "read more" button, or a paper copy can be picked up in person at the Union Hall.  The instructions, requirements, and deadline to submit the application are detailed on the application form.
Download: California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship digital fill-in form.pdf

Yellow Corporation Bankruptcy Update Regarding Member WARN Act Claims

4/18/2024 - The following is a message from John A. Murphy, IBT National Freight Director and Co-Chair, TNFINC: Re: Yellow Corporation Bankruptcy Update Regarding Member WARN Act Claims TO ALL LOCAL UNIONS HAVING MEMBERS EMPLOYED OR FORMERLY EMPLOYED BY YELLOW CORPORATION AFFILIATES I.

Teamsters Local 492 Wins Historic Grievance Against Sysco for Members

4/16/2024- It is with great pleasure that I can report to all our members, that Teamsters Local 492 has won a hard-fought grievance for our Sysco brothers and sisters! On April 03, 2020, a grievance was filed to enforce the forty-hour language in our contract.  This grievance was filed during the Walter Maestas administration, in the early stages of Covid-19.

Teamsters 492 Organizing Victory in NM at Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits

On behalf of Teamsters Local 492, I would personally like to congratulate all of the workers at Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits in this Local's jurisdiction, which includes warehouse workers, loaders, drivers as well as hostlers/yard jockeys.

TForce Freight – Article 44 Rail & Subcontracting Update

TForce Freight – Article 44 Rail & Subcontracting Update The IBT has reviewed the monthly filing by TForce Freight to TNFINC and pursuant to the requirements of the 2023-2028 National Master TForce Freight Agreement’s Article 44. TForce Freight’s for the month of January 2024 was 43.44%, which is under the 45.8% limit as of January 31, 2024.

Correction: Notice of 492 Contact Info

Correction: Notice of 492 Contact Info 1/26/2024- Recently, an email was sent out with incorrect information regarding contact info for our 492 bookkeeper who handles Dues, Life with Dues, and Pension appointments, Monique Montoya. Her correct 492 office phone number is 505-344-1925 Ex. 12.

WCTPT Summary Plan Booklet 2023 Now Available

The Updated Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust Summary Plan Booklet 2023 is Now Available in PDF Form. Also, building on the strong investment results of 2023, the Trustees of the Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust have approved major benefit improvements.
Download: WCTPT_Summary_Plan_Booklet_2023.pdf

Teamsters Local 492
4269 Balloon Park Road NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109

Top of Page image
Powered By UnionActive - Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.