Teamsters Local 492
Teamsters Local 492

Register an Account
Forgot Login?
Truck Roadeo 2014
Jul 22, 2014

There were 33 Teamster Drivers that competed in the 2014 Truck Roadeo. Teamsters Local 492, which is a sponsor of the Roadeo, would like to take this time to thank everyone that competed. It takes a lot of time, effort, skill, knowledge and practice to compete in these events, and we all know that Teamster Drivers are the best in the industry; it’s great to be able to show off those skills. We would also like to thank those that volunteered and to all the families that go out to the Roadeo to support these drivers.

Unfortunately, for some reason, some of the family members were told they could not take pictures of the event this year, so we only have one photo so far, and it is from the Awards Ceremony. So if you have pictures you would like to submit please notify us by clicking here.   

ABF had 16 Drivers that competed which included Craig Arellano, Gerald Benavidez, Ricky Lucas, Carl Marquez, James Morgan, Ronald Pacheco and Kirk Weis.

1st place in Sleeper, Ralph Garcia                      

This was Ralph’s 12th win in a row; he also won the National Championship last year.

1st Place in Tanker, Joseph Carrillo                  

Joseph was rookie of the year last year;

2nd place in the 5 Axle, Charlie Estrada

2nd place in Flatbed, Duane Oldfield

2nd place in Twins, Chad Sullins            

3rd place in the 4 axle, Robert Delgado

3rd place in the 5 axle Tito Torres

3rd place in Flatbed Michael Contreras

3rd place in Straight Truck, Donald Woods

ABF won the two categories eligible for in the Fleet Safety Awards which were the 100,000 to 500,000 miles for their city operation and over 5,000,001 miles for the 3rd time in a row for the line haul operation.

ABF also had 2 Drivers of the Month, George Mackey for May and Ralph Garcia for June.

Debbie Archer was selected as the Volunteer of the Year. She has been by Randy Archers side (ABF Line Haul Manger) at the Championships for all 14 years he has been involved.  She truly loves making team members and their families feel like they are part of the family. She also helped with the Safety Management Council tents, trailer, etc. Thanks Debbie for all you do! Thanks also to Retiree Robert Aragon for volunteering again this year.  

Update July 22, 2014- Brother Duane Oldfield who had placed second in the Flatbed division will now be competing in the Nationals along with Ralph Garcia (Sleeper division) and Joseph Carrillo (Tanker division), all from ABF, as the driver who had finished ahead of him subsequently resigned from his employment which disqualified him from further competition.  The National competition will be held in Pittsburgh, PA. the week of August 12th, 2014.  Good Luck to the three of you!  Represent yourselves, your Union and your Employer with class and professionalism!!  Bring back the “Gold”.

Sysco NM had 3 drivers compete including Aaron Clanan who took home “Rookie of the Year”, also Sonny Mariano and Mario Martinez.

UPS-TeamOne (TDI/SCS/Sara Lee Bakeries) had 4 drivers participate; Steve Lopez, Cameron Misner, Jose Seijas, and Brian Thais.   

YRC Freight had 10 drivers that competed including Michael McAfee who took home 2nd place in 5 axle sleeper, also James Aragon, Stanley Aragon, Ronald Masawiestewa, Victor Moralez, Charles Perez, Jack Rojas, George Ronquillo, Frank Sandoval, and Joseph Wright. Paul Hunt of YRC received Driver of the month for September. 

To view the 2013 Truck Roadeo Article, Click Here

<< July 2024 >>
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
New Mexico Teamsters Win at NMTDC 2024

New Mexico Teamsters Win at NMTDC 2024 On May 18, 2024, New Mexico Teamsters converged from all over the state to compete in the New Mexico Truck Driving Championship. Held at the Isleta Casino, the decades-old event encourages dedicated drivers, spread among 9 divisions, to test their skills among 98 fellow competitors for the title of State Champion in their division.

2024 California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship Applications NOW AVAILABLE

The California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus is proud to offer its 2024 Scholarship.  The California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship digital fill-in form application can be downloaded by Clicking the "read more" button, or a paper copy can be picked up in person at the Union Hall.  The instructions, requirements, and deadline to submit the application are detailed on the application form.
Download: California Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Scholarship digital fill-in form.pdf

Yellow Corporation Bankruptcy Update Regarding Member WARN Act Claims

4/18/2024 - The following is a message from John A. Murphy, IBT National Freight Director and Co-Chair, TNFINC: Re: Yellow Corporation Bankruptcy Update Regarding Member WARN Act Claims TO ALL LOCAL UNIONS HAVING MEMBERS EMPLOYED OR FORMERLY EMPLOYED BY YELLOW CORPORATION AFFILIATES I.

Teamsters Local 492 Wins Historic Grievance Against Sysco for Members

4/16/2024- It is with great pleasure that I can report to all our members, that Teamsters Local 492 has won a hard-fought grievance for our Sysco brothers and sisters! On April 03, 2020, a grievance was filed to enforce the forty-hour language in our contract.  This grievance was filed during the Walter Maestas administration, in the early stages of Covid-19.

Teamsters 492 Organizing Victory in NM at Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits

On behalf of Teamsters Local 492, I would personally like to congratulate all of the workers at Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits in this Local's jurisdiction, which includes warehouse workers, loaders, drivers as well as hostlers/yard jockeys.

TForce Freight – Article 44 Rail & Subcontracting Update

TForce Freight – Article 44 Rail & Subcontracting Update The IBT has reviewed the monthly filing by TForce Freight to TNFINC and pursuant to the requirements of the 2023-2028 National Master TForce Freight Agreement’s Article 44. TForce Freight’s for the month of January 2024 was 43.44%, which is under the 45.8% limit as of January 31, 2024.

Correction: Notice of 492 Contact Info

Correction: Notice of 492 Contact Info 1/26/2024- Recently, an email was sent out with incorrect information regarding contact info for our 492 bookkeeper who handles Dues, Life with Dues, and Pension appointments, Monique Montoya. Her correct 492 office phone number is 505-344-1925 Ex. 12.

WCTPT Summary Plan Booklet 2023 Now Available

The Updated Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust Summary Plan Booklet 2023 is Now Available in PDF Form. Also, building on the strong investment results of 2023, the Trustees of the Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust have approved major benefit improvements.
Download: WCTPT_Summary_Plan_Booklet_2023.pdf

Teamsters Local 492
4269 Balloon Park Road NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109

Top of Page image
Powered By UnionActive - Copyright © 2024. All Rights Reserved.